Facts about T Levels: what's involved in studying them, how they are assessed, and how long they take to complete.

What are T Levels?

T Levels are new two-year courses equivalent to three levels, which will be available to students in England from September 2020.

Following GCSEs, students will have the option to study one of the following pathways:

  • T Levels
  • apprenticeship
  • A levels

T Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers, and will offer around 1,800 hours of study over two years. This will include a 45-day work placement, so T Levels will be more suited to students who know what occupation or industry they want to move into.

T Levels include compulsory elements:

  • a technical qualification which includes core skills, theory, and concepts for the industry area
  • specialist occupational skills and knowledge of the career
  • an industry placement with an employer
  • a minimum standard in maths and English, if students haven’t already achieved this

How are T Levels graded?

Students who complete a T Level will receive an overall grade of pass, merit, distinction or distinction* and will be awarded with a nationally recognised certificate showing a breakdown of what they’ve achieved. It will also confirm that a student has met the minimum requirements for maths and English qualifications.

Are T Levels included in the UCAS Tariff?

Students who want to progress into higher education will be able to see how UCAS Tariff points are allocated to their T Level. They must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive Tariff points, as set out below:


UCAS Tariff points     T Level overall grade       A Level
168 Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism) AAA*
144 Distinction AAA
120 Merit BBB
96 Pass (C or above on the core) CCC
72 Pass (D or E on the core) DDD

What T Level subjects are available?

The first three T Levels available to start in September 2020 will be:

  • digital production, design and development
  • design, surveying and planning
  • education

View the accredited providers who have been approved to deliver these first three T Levels. 

From autumn 2021, T Levels will also be available in:

  • building services engineering
  • digital business services
  • digital support and services
  • health
  • healthcare science
  • onsite construction
  • science

Additional providers will be approved to deliver T Levels from September 2021.

More T Levels will be available from Autumn 2022.